DUI Penalties in Fort Myers
Penalties for First-Time DUI Offenders
Under Florida law, a DUI conviction can result in harsh penalties even
for first-time offenders. If you have been arrested for the crime of drinking
and driving, it is crucial that you take legal action to avoid facing
For first-time DUI offenders in Florida, penalties may include:
- $1000 fine
- Dramatic increase in your insurance rates
- Up to 50 hours community service
- Vehicle placed in impoundment for 10 days
- Ignition interlock device installation
- Six months jail time
- Probation for a full year
At Parks & Braxton, PA, we are ready to aggressively fight for you
against your DUI charge. We bring with us over 45 years of experience
successfully representing clients in all types of DUI cases. Our Fort
Myers DUI attorneys are widely recognized and revered for their strong
defense strategies in advocating the rights and best interests of their clients.
To secure our firm’s representation, schedule a free consultation
(239) 217-3723 today!
Punishment for Repeat DUI Offenders
A second DUI arrest has significantly tougher penalties. These include
an increased fine of up to $2000, 30 days of vehicle impoundment, and
up to nine months imprisonment. If your repeat arrest has happened within
five years of your first, you may face at least 10 days of imprisonment,
including 48 consecutive hours.
If you have been arrested for the third time, fines will increase to up
$5000, vehicle impoundment will extend to 90 days, and you may face up
to a year of imprisonment, wherein the 30 days are mandatory. In case
your third DUI happened within 10 years of your previous arrest, you may
be convicted of a felony DUI and face up to five years in state prison.
Revocation of Driver’s License in Florida
A DUI arrest can also result in the suspension of your driver’s license
as enacted by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle. It is
important that you request a DMV administrative review hearing within
10 days of your arrest. If you fail to do this, the Department will have
to revoke your driving privileges.
The period of revocation for your driver’s license are as follow:
First DUI offense- 180 days to a year
Second DUI offense- Minimum of five-year suspension
Third DUI offense (if within 10 years of the previous arrest)- Up to 10 years revocation
Fourth DUI offense- Mandatory permanent revocation
Our Fort Myers DUI attorneys at Parks & Braxton, PA are ready to provide
you with hard-hitting defense strategies to avoid facing harsh penalties.
We have a proven track record of successfully helping thousands of clients
in the past with their DUI charges and we are prepared to do the same
for you. Our firm is responsive and available for all your legal needs 24/7.
Give us a call at (239) 217-3723 for a free consultation today!